RC Walls and Seismic Design paper scores top structural engineering Medal

R W Chapman Medal 2019 recipients.
News Image
Modern Building

The RW Chapman Medal perpetuates the memory of Sir Robert Chapman, a former Professor of Engineering at the University of Adelaide and a member of the inaugural Council of Engineers Australia.

For the first time since it’s inauguration in 1935, the Medal was presented virtually at the Australasian Structural Engineering Conference (ASEC) 2020 on Thursday, 12th November 2020.

The Medal is awarded for the best paper in the structural field, published in an Australian Journal (but with special consideration to the Australian Journal of Structural Engineering) in the previous calendar year. In order to qualify, the paper must make a genuine attempt to share data, represent a realistic approach to the subject matter, have at its core an important or neglected issue and be of sound technical development.

Engineers Australia has the pleasure of bestowing the RW Chapman Medal 2019 to co-authors Scott J. Menegon (Research Fellow at Swinburne University of Technology.), John L. Wilson (Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive Officer of Swinburne Sarawak, Malaysia), Nelson T. K. Lam (Leader of Structures and Buildings in the Department of Infrastructure Engineering at the University of Melbourne) and Peter McBean (Joint Managing Director of Wallbridge Gilbert Aztec) for their paper entitled “RC walls in Australia: seismic design and detailing to AS 1170.4 and AS 3600”

The award-winning paper was first published in the Australian Journal of Structural Engineering Volume 19, 2018 - Issue 1’ and “aims to clarify seismic design procedures to practising structural engineers and undergraduate students in Australia, who have had little exposure to seismic design given the lower seismic nature of Australia”.

The paper places emphasis on the detailing of RC wall structures and outlines practices for RC walls that can significantly limit the seismic response. It seeks to present guidance and recommendations for the seismic design of RC wall structures to Australian designers and engineers.

Engineers Australia together with the Structural College of Engineers Australia congratulates our esteemed 2019 RW Chapman Medal recipients.

Engineers Australia is proud to showcase engineers who display extraordinary vision, leadership and creativity through our awards programs.

Our Recognition Awards celebrate engineers in varying technical and sector-based awards, medals and scholarships. View the full list Awards here.

For general enquiries on these awards please contact Engineers Australia's Program Manager: [email protected]