Engineers recognised in the 2022 Australia Day Honours list

News Image
Congratulations to the honourees

Engineers Australia members are among the profession’s achievers recognised in the 2022 Australia Day Honours list announced by the Governor General this morning.

The Australian Honours and Awards system recognises the outstanding service and contributions of Australians.

“Engineers are critical to our nation’s prosperity, playing vital roles in our community through work that touches almost every aspect of our lives,” said Engineers Australia CEO Dr Bronwyn Evans.

“Those recognised today come from all parts of the country and represent many different sectors of the engineering profession.

“While their contributions are all unique, they share selflessness, dedication and a passion for strengthening our communities.”

Engineers and those honoured for their service to the profession include:

Companion of the Order of Australia (AC)

Australia’s Chief Scientist from 2016 to 2020, Dr Alan Finkel AO HonFIEAust CPEng was appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) for eminent service to science, to national energy innovation and research infrastructure capability, to climate change and COVID-19 response initiatives, and to science and engineering education.

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)
A number of engineers were appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM), in the general and military divisions.

This includes Engineers Australia Honorary Fellow and Chartered engineer Peter Airey HonFIEAust CPEng for significant service to engineering, and to professional organisations.

Since starting his company Airey Taylor Consulting Engineers and Scientists in 1971, the firm has completed more than 17,000 projects in Western Australia. This includes the State Theatre Centre, which was awarded Best Overall Project at Engineers Australia’s 2011 Excellence Awards.

Joining Airey on the list was Engineers Australia Fellow and former Engineering Education Australia board member Thomas Fricke FIEAust, for significant service to engineering, to professional societies, and to the community.

Fricke has worked for GHD Australia for almost 55 years, most recently as an Executive Consultant. He was also a member of Monash University’s Infrastructure Advisory Council from 2017 to 2021 and Chair of the University of Melbourne’s Department of Engineering Industry Advisory group from 2009 to 2013.

Group Captain James Badgery FIEAust CPEng was recognised in the military division for exceptional service to the Australian Defence Force in aerospace capability development. He has demonstrated “superb engineering prowess” and transformed the Air Mobility Group from an organisation struggling to apply new Defence Aviation Safety Regulations to being at the forefront of airworthiness in the Royal Australian Air Force.

Professor Xingua Wu was appointed an honorary AM for significant service to manufacturing science, to tertiary education, and to engineering. Honorary appointments are made to people who are not Australian citizens but have given extraordinary service to the nation.

Medal of the Order of Australia

The Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) is awarded for service worthy of particular recognition.

  • Kate Cole for service to workplace health and safety
  • Henk Van den Heuvel for service to the building industry
  • Campbell Bolwell for service to mechanical engineering
  • Anthony McDonald for service to engineering, and to the community
  • Warrant Officer Dane Field For meritorious performance of duty in the field of Naval Engineering.

Engineers were also recognised for their service outside of the profession, including:

  • Founder of Kilic Engineering Ante Kilic, for service to the Croatian community of South Australia.
  • Former ABC engineer Peter Nosow, for service to horticulture, and to the community.
  • Ian Tate, a former chief engineer and mechanic for Holden’s racing team in the 1970s, for service to historic motor sports.
  • Aircraft engineer and recreational pilot Greg Davies for service to recreational flying. Davies got his start in 1976 with an aircraft maintenance engineer apprenticeship at Qantas. Now semi-retired after decades working in ICT, he is Vice-President of the Sydney Recreational Flying Club. 
  • Charles Clark for service to the community through a range of roles.
  • The late Anthony De Luca for service to motoring clubs, and to the community.
  • Local government engineer turned council CEO Lyndon Webb, who was posthumously recognised for service to local government, and to the community of Sale in Victoria.

The Conspicuous Service Medal (CSM) is given out for meritorious achievement or devotion to duty, in non-warlike situations.

CSM recipients included:

  • Lieutenant Colonel David Marshall MIEAust for meritorious devotion to duty in engineering and airworthiness management for the MRH90 helicopter at the Army Aviation Systems Program Office.
  • Lieutenant Commander Kate Carriage Ran for meritorious devotion to duty as the Naval Aviation Systems Program Office Deputy Chief Engineer between January 2019 and December 2020.
  • Petty Officer Paul De Keizer for meritorious devotion to duty as the Propulsion Supervisor for HMAS Choules and delivering vital engineering training to marine engineers and technicians.
  • Captain Cameron Laing ​​for meritorious devotion to duty as the Project Engineer for Fiji Projects at the 19th Chief Engineer Works.

ACT Fire and Rescue Station Officer Brendan Cross was awarded an Australian Fire Service Medal and airfield engineer Squadron Leader Kenneth Edwards was awarded the Conspicuous Service Cross for outstanding achievement in the infrastructure redevelopment of Royal Australian Air Force Base Tindal. 

Media enquiries

Lisa McKoy
Engineers Australia National Media Manager
[email protected]
0468 366 691